The Métaphysicien Begins

Metaphysics as I have learnt, is the philosophy of everything (fundamental) around us, including us. ‘Everything’ is a very generic term that I have used here, but it literally encompasses whatever exists in the Universe. It is primarily reasoning the existence and universe’s modus operandi. The study of existence and being, and their interaction with each other is Ontology, while the study of universe, its origin, growth, future, and the rules governing it is Cosmology.

‘Métaphysicien’ is the French word for Metaphysicist. My flatmate speaks French-creole, leading to my inspiration of selecting this particular word. I created this blog, to share my encounters with Metaphysics, in my quest to pursue the interpretation and laws governing our Universe. Since I do not have a formal degree in Physics or higher Mathematics, I am considerably handicapped in understanding Metaphysics fully, hence even though I might I might only scratch the surface, I wish to continue learning, and sharing it on this blog in understandable broken down form. If an error is spotted in the text, please correct met. I will keep the discussion with minimal equations to be best read by general masses wishing to know about the universe, but do not want to hassle with reading multitude of books. My first actual blog post, ‘Theory of Everything’ will be launched soon, which will define the Standard model of Physics as we understand, and linking it with the potential theories that govern the universe.  This post, ‘The Metaphysicien Begins’, is a prologue to ‘The Metaphysicien’.

Turbulent Combustion

As deep I could think, turbulent Combustion isn’t directly related to Cosmology (apart from Thermodynamics which govern both), as most reactions in the Universe are nuclear, and not oxidation as combustion. The only link between the Combustion and Cosmology happens to be is me. Turbulent Combustion and Internal Combustion Engines is my passion and career, while Cosmology is my personal interest. My research involves study of combustion and its modelling through Computational Fluid Dynamics using mathematical models and correlations. I studied Masters in Automotive Engineering at Coventry University, United Kingdom, and was the top of the class and received the Dean’s Award in 2011-12 year. I now work at Coventry University itself. When I formally tested my IQ recently, I was both disappointed and felt excited. I was in the notion of 140+, but could only manage 138. IQ of 138 represents top 0.6% most intelligent people in the world, but giving the 7.2 billion world population, there are about 40.9 million people more intelligent than me. This is a huge number and hopefully you can understand my disappointment.

Refraction caused by density changes

What you see here is me, holding a aerosol spray cannister on a naked flame (lighter). The air around the flame is relatively quiescent (negligible turbulence- movement of air), prior to the spray being released. All the turbulence is generated by the pressurised fluids flowing out at high velocity from a minute orifice (<0.5 mm diameter) leading to atomisation (creation of small droplets). As the liquid gets atomised, it evaporates in the presence of much warmer air (and eventually the heat from the flame), forming a mixture with air, and ignites because of the flame source. The fluid mostly is a mixture of hydrocarbons (butane, iso-butane and propane) and hence the flame is yellow as seen near the point of ignition, due to the formation of soot (unburnt carbon within the flame, which get oxidised as soot particles move to outer regions of the flame). Blue flame is ideal, which represents complete combustion. The yellow colour can also be generated by the small amount of additives in the aerosol spray.

The reason I reduced the exposure of the image was to show the interesting phenomenon of refraction of light on the right side of the image (left of my face). Due to density gradient of the air by extreme heat, the refractive index of air changes, and refracts light differently. This principle is utilised in Schileren photography, extensively applied in Aerodynamics and Combustion  systems to visualise flow through transparent materials, which are mostly invisible to the human eye, in which case the density changes are produced by shock waves.
Here I must thank my flatmate, again, Abhinivesh Beechook for capturing this picture. He would repetitively be attached to my science experiments so I thought I must include his name from the start. According to my own purely philosophical theory, he has a better chance of making a discovery or theory than me. I have written about this philosophy, but you must wait for another blog post for it, in the ‘Philosophy of being and existence’.

Readings:
I currently am reading Stephen Hawking’s ‘A Brief History of Time’. My inspiration for choosing his book was the movie which is going to be released early next year, ‘The Theory of Everything’. The movie itself is based on the book by his first wife, Jane Hawking, ‘Travelling to Infinity: My Life with Stephen’, which would be my next reading. Following is my collection of readings for this year. This includes ‘The Principia’ by Isaac Newton, translated by I Bernard Cohen and Anne Whitman, ‘The World As I See It’ and ‘Relativity’ by Albert Einstein and ‘Surely You’re Joking Mr. Feynman!’ by Richard Feynman. Of course these books lead to more books, which I will read in due time.

Untitled

Leave a comment, and let me know what you would want me to discuss. Next discussion is ‘The Theory of Everything, what is it all about?’.

Thank you for reading, please leave your thoughts below.

